Tags

, , , , ,

Step 1: Admitting you have a problem 

I think I have to admit that I’m a hoarder. I am coming to grips with the fact that I hoard fashion magazines, old college papers, and old documents from former jobs. I came to this realization when I last tried to purge a room full of Architectural Digest, Vogue, and W magazines.

In the process of getting rid of them I found myself saying things like…”but I need these for the reference library that I plan to have one day in a study I hope to build. I hope to bond these in leather and use them to see the transition of style and home furnishings through the years”, or like “my Grandmother gave me these and I can’t possibly get rid of them because we used to earmark pages of Van Cleef & Arpels’ jewerly that we would one day purchase”.

Well Grandma has left us and I still have the magazines dated as far back as 2000. Okay, I think these are true signs of a problem in progress. I started looking at my computer and I wondered why I had so many damn pages open. I started getting these notices from my computer saying usage will be slow something about I had 200 mb or something running and it was causing too much memory to be used at one time. I feel the same way…too much memory being used at one time. I need to purge. I admit it I have a problem. I’m going to solve it.

Exhibit A.

(Can someone tell me why I have 11 pages open at one time, when I can clearly get back to any page using ctrl + H?)

Exhibit B.

Clearly there’s a problem

This room is supposed to be my sweet escape. The place I come to think, work, and create. To retreat from the spirals, and perils of parenting a teenager, and supporting an often uptight , overworked, and extremely over-analytical Husband. It’s clear to say that a reset is in order.

Exhibit C.

Not sure if you can tell from the closet, but at one time order did exist here. This used to be the most organized room in the house. Now, it looks like the place where order came to die. It also holds all of my flights of fancy, i.e. my 2-year-old Alvarez acoustic guitar that I used to take 3 or 4 lessons so that once completed would allow me to sing Robert Pattinson’s ~ Let Me Sign; but it subsequently landed in the sea of forgotten endeavors. I will get back to it, I will fish it out I promise.

Solution~ Creating a plan to restore order then acting on it 😉

“Domestic Housewife Kitty waiting to catch up to my ambitions”~ Meow 😦

